The Order of

First Families of Connecticut

(1633 – 1662)


Home OFFCT Officers History Eligibility Links






A Brief History of Connecticut and the Order



     Samuel Elliott Morrison said in his Oxford History of the American People that Connecticut was the place of  the first westward migration out of the Massachusetts Bay.  A study of the Nutmegger immigrants would undoubtedly reveal that the average Connecticut colonial desired to be a bit more liberal than the right-wing Massachusetts Bay population (which was comprised almost exclusively of conservative Congregationalist Puritans), but somewhat more conservative than the residents of the left-wing radical Rhode Island colony (which contained the more liberal and independent-minded Quakers and Baptists).

     In 1614, the lands along the present-day Connecticut River were explored by the Dutch explorer, Adriaen Block, but the Dutch were slow to do anything about settling the territory.  In 1631, William Fiennes, Lord Saye and Sele, obtained right to the Connecticut River Valley from the Earl of Warwick.  Warwick had received the grant from the Council of New England years earlier.

    The land did not see its first settlement until 1633, when the Dutch erected a fort on the river near  present-day Hartford, which they called the “House of Hope.”  Although the Dutch asserted their claim to the land at that time, a trading post was established later that same year at present-day Windsor by members of the Dorchester Company of Massachusetts. Wethersfield saw its first settlers in 1634 and Hartford in 1635, when colonists arrived from Cambridge and Watertown, led by the Rev. Thomas Hooker, a prominent minister, who harbored more democratic leanings than those found  generally  in  the  Massachusetts  Bay.  In addition, in 1635 English settlers who had traveled with John Winthrop, Jr. (son of the Massachusetts governor) under the sponsorship of Lord Saye and his associates established Fort Saybrook at the mouth of the river.  By this time, the Dutch had resigned to concentrate their settlement efforts on Manhattan Island and never made a serious effort  to  settle the Connecticut land.  Clearly, these and all the earliest Connecticut settlements resulted from a search for fertile farmland, and also from a desire for more religious freedoms

    In 1639, the settlers at Windsor, Hartford and Wethersfield drafted their FUNDAMENTAL ORDERS, providing for a Governor and Assistants, along with four Representatives from each settlement.  While the colonists desired to follow many of the practices of the Colony established in the Massachusetts Bay, this document placed greater limitations on the Governor’s powers and sought to introduce more liberal voting standards.  These three settlements were generally referred to as the Colony of Connecticut and the document they followed has become regarded as the first written constitution in America.  Soon after its adoption, numerous other settlements were established.

    The colony at New Haven, however, would not be part of Connecticut for some time.  New Haven, located on the Long Island Sound, was established in 1638 by Theophilus Eaton and the Rev. John Davenport who believed they had been divinely guided to establish a new settlement because the Colony of the Massachusetts Bay lacked adequate enforcement of moral standards.  Unlike the more democratic Connecticut Colony, voting privileges were restricted to church members.  Seemingly, only two things of great importance were shared among the colonists of the Massachusetts Bay, Connecticut and New Haven:  their common fear of hostility from the natives, and their loathing of Rhode Islanders.

    The colonies of Connecticut and New Haven existed as separate political entities until after 1662, when a Royal Charter was granted to the Connecticut Colony. The Charter included a 73-mile-wide swath of land from Rhode Island to the ocean. Although New Haven colonists were less than pleased about being absorbed by their larger Connecticut neighbor, they consented to the merger out of fear of being annexed to New York.  In 1664 New Haven officially became part of the Connecticut Colony.

    Following is a list of settlements that ultimately comprised the Colony of Connecticut, all of which were founded by 1662 when the Royal Charter was granted:

Branford, 1639 Derby, 1651 Fairfield, 1639 Farmington, 1640

Greenwich, 1640

Guilford, 1639 Hartford, 1635 Middletown, 1651
Milford, 1639 New Haven, 1638 New London, 1646 Norwalk, 1649
Norwich, 1659 Saybrook, 1635 Stamford, 1641 Stonington, 1649
Stratford, 1639 Wethersfield, 1634 Windsor, 1635  


The Founding of the Order

        On a warm summer day in July 2004, Charles Owen Johnson and James Kevin Raywalt, each a descendant of an individual who settled within the bounds of present-day Connecticut prior to the grant of the Royal Charter of 1662, met to establish The Order of First Families of Connecticut (1633-1662). Mr. Johnson was appointed Governor General and Mr. Raywalt was appointed Genealogist General, each of them approving the other’s application.  Upon approval of both applications, bylaws were adopted.  Soon afterward, additional officers of the Order were appointed by the Governor General.  The first Council and general membership meeting was held at Mystic, Connecticut on Sunday, October 3, 2004.


Objectives of the Order are:

1.  to identify and honor the memory of ancestors who were “First Families of Connecticut (1633-1662),” as defined in Article III, Section 1 of the Order’s Bylaws;

2.  to associate the living descendants of these “First Families of Connecticut (1633-1662),” bringing them into close association through activities revolving around matters of common genealogical and historical interest;

3.  to collect and preserve records, documents and relics pertaining to the genealogy and history of the “First Families of Connecticut (1633-1662)”;

4.  to produce and distribute publications of all kinds relating to the genealogy and history of the “First Families of Connecticut (1633-1662),” and

5.  to do everything and anything reasonably and lawfully necessary, proper, suitable or convenient for the achievement and furtherance of these purposes.


Our Emblem

    The emblem of the Order is comprised of three grapevines from the seal of the State of Connecticut, a cross-crosslet from the Arms of the Earl of Warwick, and a lion rampant from the Arms of the Lord of Saye & Sele.  They are tinctured “proper,” surrounded by an outer circle containing the name of the Order.